T5W Books that Feature LGBTQ+ Characters

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey and hosted by Sam. Check out the group  on Goodreads if you’re interested in joining.

This week’s topic is to discuss LGBTQ+ characters or authors.

harry potter series

1. Harry Potter and… Them All (J.K. Rowling)

Albus Dumbledore was a great man. Albus Dumbledore was gay. The only thing about this that doesn’t sit right with me is having to use the past tense.

The Great Gatsby

2. The Great Gatsby (F. Scott Fitzgerald)

Nick Carroway was bisexual. Amidst the secret affairs and secret almost-affairs, Nick’s sexuality was the least stirring secret harbored by a character in this novel.

The House of Hades.jpg

3. House of Hades (Rick Riordan)

Nico, son of Hades, happens to be gay.

On this blog here, Riordan is quoted to have said:

Nico’s sexual orientation became clear to me the longer I wrote about his character. It was not something I planned. I had no agenda. But when I realized this was a major part of his life experience and the reason for so many of his difficulties with the other characters, it would have been a disservice to his character, the plot of the books, and all my readers simply to sweep the issue under the rug and pretend it didn’t exist.

I appreciate the authentic character development here. As a reader, it was something that you discovered along with Nico while he tried to figure himself out, so it really fit.

Wish I had more breadth and depth on the topic, but that is all that came to me this time. I feel interested to read other T5W posts on this topic! As always, link me below.

Happy happy Wednesday, bloggers!

Leave a Reply

