T5W: Authors I Want to Read More From

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday topic is authors that you would like to read more from.

1. Neil Gaiman

To date, I have read The Graveyard BookNorse Mythology, and am currently listening to American Gods. Gaiman’s books generally seem to be odd but interesting, and I like that. There is something dark and eerie to The Graveyard Book and Norse Mythology, but the prose is clean and he seems to get right to the story he is meant to tell. American Gods is honest. In the story, the characters–even fictitious gods–have motives and personalities that fit. Sex and violence is depicted openly without being too graphic or slipped in just for the sake of blood spatter. The stories are unencumbered with extra glitz and tinsel so you can dig right in.

Also, Gaiman’s works have spanned many mediums. His name (or at least his work) is easily recognizable from Coraline, which became a stop-motion film, and now American Gods, which was just republished with some new trimmings and is also a tv show that premieres in a few short days. He has written graphic novels and screenplays. I feel like I’m tooting his horn here, but ever since downloading Norse Mythology from audible this past March, I haven’t been able to get enough!

2. Jane Austen

Unfortunately, I have already read and reread almost every Jane Austen novel out there, excluding some of the more obscure or incomplete works you will find.

It all started in the summer after twelfth grade. You would find me at the dinner table in Mackinac Island with a book, on a double decker bus in Italy with a book, or at a picnic table in Catalina Island with my nose in a book. It was the first time I had done so much traveling, but my reading did not suffer. Pride and Prejudice was one of the novels I picked up that summer.

At first, I was bored, and I struggled with the archaic form of speech, but I had already read Wuthering Heights and I wanted to be more widely read, so I powered through. Once I got invested in the characters, I become feverishly addicted to the drama and suspense. It was so elegant and so enchanting for me. Over the years, I have gone on to read everything Austen I could get my hands on. I only wish there were more.

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

3. Mark Twain

Mark Twain, aka Samuel Clemens, is my brain food. His intellect is bearable because his writing is so humorous and witty. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn made me laugh out loud. He wrote a critique of James Fenimore Cooper, and never mind that I never read Last of the Mohicans; I was cracking up. I loved the way he captured dialogue in The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, and I loved what a little rascal Tom Sawyer was in his own starring debut. I have been meaning to read more of his shorter works and less renowned tales, but for now he is an easy choice on this list.

4. Billy Collins

Billy Collins’ poetry makes me so happy. I could try to explain why, but that wouldn’t be nearly as good as including a poem below.

Watercoloring

The sky began to tilt,
a shift of light toward the higher clouds,
so I seized my brush
and dipped my little cup in the stream,

but once I streaked the paper gray
with a hunt of green
water began to slide down the page
rivulets looking for a river.

And again, I was too late–
then the sky made another turn,
this time as if to face a mirror
held in the outstretched arm of god.

 

5. Rachael Rose Steil

Rachael Steil wrote a novel called Running in Silence, with plans to write and publish again. It is a raw, painful personal tale of running and eating disorder. I am proud of this dear friend and excited to see what else she puts forth into the world.

Honorable mentions go to Willa Cather, Charles Dickens, David Sedaris, and Stephen King. I tried to make sense of my own reading tastes and gave up…

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey and hosted by Sam. Check out the group  on Goodreads if you’re interested in joining.

2 thoughts on “T5W: Authors I Want to Read More From”

Leave a Reply

